What’s In My Makeup Bag : Sephora Edition

Today, I am doing a semi-shameless basic bitch post about what’s in my makeup bag, mainly about items I actually use from Sephora. I keep them in there & pretty much use them everyday, like they are my don’t-leave-home-without-them makeup staples.
Here’s a pic of the Sephora items I keep in in my handy, dandy Sephora makeup bag, as well as the bag itself:


Considering the fact that I have to adult and be responsible for things like rent, electricity, and food, it’s not much, & I would love to spend more money in Sephora than I actually do, (because #1: who wouldn’t? & #2: it’s like a candy store, even for semi-girly girls like me but #3: I’m a bit of a minimalist) & again, these are products I use regularly, because my face is not complete without them and have found them to be great products and well worth the price tag. Of course, I use other products on my face, both from Sephora and the drugstore, (which will be covered  & reviewed in other posts). The focus here is what’s actually in this bag & in my purse on a daily basis.


Pictured first from the left are 3 Kat Von D Everlasting Liquid Lipsticks. I LOVE THIS LIPSTICK!!! It’s by far the best lipstick I’ve ever worn. It has a matte finish when dry, yet it doesn’t dry out my lips. The way I wear it is with a thin layer of plumping gloss as a base, followed by the Elf Primer & Plumper duo, & then a matching lip liner, depending on the shade of lipstick I’m wearing. The longest wear I’ve ever gotten with it is 11 hours, usually from morning to bedtime, when I take it off. My lips are either nude for my no makeup look, which is very rare, or dark, goth, & dramatic: there is no in between! The colors shown are Lolita, a pinky brown neutral, Vampira, a deep dark oxblood, & Exorcism, a deep, plush plummy purple. Vampira is usually my go-to, but I get the most compliments and questions about Exorcism. Some people are kinda​ put off by the name, but if you’re not into that particular goth aesthetic, I understand. These are the three main lipsticks I wear, so they stay in the bag.


The second Sephora item from the ​left is another one of Kat Von D’s amazing products which is the Ink Eyeliner in Trooper, which I have dubbed ”The Best Eyeliner in the World”. I prefer it over her Tattoo Liner simply because of the tip. If you go to Sephora and try them both out, you will see that there is a HUGE difference. This liner is the best because of said tip & it’s​ long lasting & helps me create perfect wings sharp enough to kill, which I wear every. single. day. My eyes are almond shaped and hooded, so it’s very tricky to get the perfect winged look without looking like a raccoon or an Egyptian pharaoh, but with this liner, I nail it every time.


The third Sephora item in my makeup bag is the Too Faced La Creme lipstick in Sweet Maple. It’s another pinky brown nude lipstick that I wear on my no makeup look days. It’s smooth, creamy, and smells so yummy I almost wanna eat it. I do use a plumper underneath it but no primer. The only downside to this lipstick is that I have to keep reapplying throughout the day.


The other two Sephora items​ in my bag are both plumping glosses. The silver one is the Glam Glow Plumprageous Gloss Lip Treatment & the gold one is Too Faced Lip Injection Extreme. I prefer the Two Faced plumper because it works well as a base under my lipsticks by smoothing the lines in my lips for that perfect dark pout. The Glam Glow: not so much. I only got it because the last time I was in my local Sephora, they were out of my beloved Lip Injection Extreme and the sales girl recommended this instead since I didn’t wanna have to wait for an order. She said it does the exact same thing, except she didn’t understand that I wanted something I can wear UNDER my lipstick, NOT as a gloss. I bought it & when I got in the car, I tried it on. It’s TOO gloopy & glossy & just doesn’t work for the matte look I love. I still use it anyway because I didn’t wanna waste a $24 lip gloss, but I’m going back to my Too Faced Lip Injection Extreme, even if I have to order it online myself. The one pictured is clearly an empty because I use every last bit, especially at $28 a tube. There is a matte version of the Glam Glow online, but I’ll just take that L & get what I really want next time.


Keep in mind that I do plan to showcase looks using these and other products in other posts, so stay tuned…

2 Comments

  1. Pingback: Day off + Rainy Day = Makeup Play | Beauty, Blessings, & Bliss

Leave a Reply

